Kangaroos on campus

I was just walking through our beautiful leafy Rockhampton university campus completely lost in thought wondering at how much it would have cost my publisher to send me a written statement telling me I had earned zero dollars in royalties when I wandered through a mob of kangaroos escaping the forty degree heat under some shady trees. The movement of the first kangaroo hopping quickly away startled me and I realised I had walked into their territory. A second female brushed passed me as it jumped away, but the buck stood up and just eyed me, very dominant. I froze, not wanting to aggravate the others any more than I already had. Slowly, I moved back, gave them a wide berth and continued on my way to ponder the futility of managing the royalties of not-yet-profitable books.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment